现金流

本加息(P&I)与仅还利息(I / O)

我们都是投资者,所以我想您们对本加息(p&I )和仅利息(I/O)的贷款并不陌生。让我们快速回顾他们的利弊。

P&I的优势

  • 通过偿还本金,物业的权益增加(假设物业的价值没有减少)。
  • 当现金流比较紧张的时候,您可以灵活地转换成为只付利息。
  • 通过额外支付减少本金,会让您更自觉从而更快地偿还完贷款。

P&I的主要缺点

  • 您有更少的现金去购买更多的物业;
  • 投资房贷款的本金部分是不可以减税的。

显然,I / O选项与之相反的优点和缺点。

那么我们应该如何付清贷款呢?

最好的结构是您的自住房使用本加息的偿还模式,这样您就可以尽快还清,并从银行尽快解除抵押。同时把可抵扣的投资房的贷款选用I / O的结构,获得较大的退税(如果您遭受损失)或减少缴税(如果您赚取利润)从而提高您的现金流量。

一旦您的自住房贷款被付清了,您可以把剩余的现金流用于偿还您投资房的贷款。方法是将现金存入一个信贷额度中,并将其逐渐付清。之后任何的盈余,您可以在重新固定利息的时候做额外的偿还,以减少贷款的余额。贷款可以继续保留在只还利息模式。如果未来您想购买更多的房产,您可以减少额外的还款从而使用现金购买更多房产。

永远不要让您的储蓄停留在银行的储蓄账户上。您可能可以赚取3%的利息,但税后,只有2%,另外一边您付5%的贷款利息,多不划算啊。如果把它放在信贷额度或用于减少贷款,您会很快还完贷款。

另一方面,我们建议不要把现金流拉得太紧。如果市场下跌,利息增加,失业等等,您将别无选择,只能在低迷的市场中被迫成为卖家,损失迄今积累的财富。

信贷额度

信用额度的优点在于,您可以在不需向银行重新申请的情况下随时提取您被批的额度以及任何您之前放进去的钱。当您不用的时候,您不会被银行索要利息,因为银行只会根据您所使用的那一部分来计算利息,而不是总的信贷额度。请注意银行一般收取信贷额度的年费,通常第一年可以免除,这个费用也是可以抵税的。

我强烈建议每个房地产投资者都应该有信贷额度。全球金融危机期间,利息接近10%。由于利息增加产生还款问题,许多投资者被迫抛售他们的房产(租金收入不能抵消利息成本,投资者也没有任何多余的现金来弥补亏空)。如果他们有信贷额度(不论是未提取或提取了一部分),他们有可能因此渡过这段艰难的时期保住资产。

房地产投资中抵御现金流风险的重要策略之一就是提前建立好信贷额度。如果您万一失去工作或租户或由于其他原因造成的现金流量不足,使用信贷额度能够帮助到您度过难关。

请记住,银行在经济形势看好的时候会是您最好的朋友,但在您困境的时候,也会成为您最糟糕的敌人。如果您承认您有麻烦,他们可能会对您做出更不利的反应。

管理利息波动

在考虑利息长短策略时,最便宜并不总是最好的。 利息波动的原因有很多,比如OCR,本地存款利息,wholesale rate等,有时很难预测。 如果您把所有贷款都固定在最便宜的利息上,等到重新固定利息时, 如果您有200 万的贷款,1%的利息变化就需要每年增加2万的现金来弥补额外的利息成本。

您的贷款利息可能会对您的整体现金流产生巨大的影响。 即使利息的小幅变动也会对您的利润产生重大影响。 银行不会因为负资产而要求您全部偿还贷款,但如果您还不上贷款,您肯定会陷入困境。 人们经常把注意力集中在最便宜的利息上,而应该把重点放在利息波动的管理上,比如固定期限稍长一些,或者分散风险把贷款分散到不同的时间到期。

拆分银行是有帮助的

一个银行的利息策略可能会从市场最好的变成最糟糕的。通过将您的贷款分拆到不同的银行,在您重新固定贷款的时候,即便您的银行决定不和其他银行打价格战,您所重新固定的利息也不会比市场多出很多。

好的物业经理

负责任的物业经理可以避免您的物业被不良的租户损坏,他们会定期进行检查维护您的物业,按时收取租金,审查租金,以确保您的租金和市场价格相匹配。您可以放心,您支付的费用很容易被增加的租金抵消。我个人使用物业经理来管理我所有的房产,对于他们带给我的益处深有体会。

寻找正净收益的物业

在‘投资战略’部分,我们讨论了平衡组合的重要性。现金流不会让您富有,但是对于支持您的资本增长很重要。高收益物业多余出来的现金流支撑着资本增长物业的支出。

基本上,收益率有两种类型:毛收益率和净收益率。但是两者有什么区别呢?

毛收益就是开支前的一切收入。 它是根据物业产生的收入除以物业的成本或市场价值的百分比。

净收益率是除去费用后的一切。 它考虑了和房产有关的所有费用和开支。 这些费用中包括比如水费(固定部分),地税,维修保养费,物业管理费和保险费等。

理想情况下,我们要寻求一个净收益率是正值的物业。 如果您找不到这种流物业,您也可以考虑购买小型企业创造额外收入,以帮助房产投资。

先付清现金流物业

现金流量的物业不太可能通过资本增长创造财富。如果长期持有下去,不但管理这些物业很麻烦而且回报会很差。尽早偿还贷款对您来说至少是一种储蓄。

马上咨询 计算器

我的自住房和投资房都是找小宇信贷来帮忙贷款的。小宇每次都很认真努力的帮我筹划,准备材料,给我很多宝贵的专业建议。最近一次小宇帮我做换房的贷款,我当时的情况比较复杂,但是小宇和她公司的员工都很积极的帮助我做好每一个环节,最终顺利交割了。 我对她们的服务非常满意,绝对会推荐给有需要贷款的朋友。

Person

Nini Ni

建筑师

Cash Flow

Principal and Interest (P&I) vs. Interest Only (I/O)

We are investors, so I assume you all know what P&I and I/O loans are. Let’s quickly recap the pros and cons of each. 

P&I advantages

  • By paying off principal, the equity in the property increase (assume the property is not reduced in value)
  • You have the flexibility to swap into interest only if cash flow gets tight to release more cash.
  • By paying extra for principal reduction, you are more disciplined towards paying off your loan quicker


The main disadvantages of P&I

  • You have less cash to invest and
  • The principal portion of investment property loan is not tax deductible.  

Obviously, the I/O option has the opposite pros and cons. 

So How Should We Pay the Loans Off?

It’s best to structure the non-deducible debt on your home on a P&I basis so you can pay it off as soon as you can and discharge the family home from the bank. At the same time leave the deductible investment debt on I/O. This maximises tax deductibility and therefore improves your cash flow as you get a larger tax refund (if you incur a loss) or pay less tax (if you made a profit)

Once your home is paid down, apply your surplus cash flow to pay down your investment loan voluntarily by storing the cash in a line of credit facility and pay it down to zero. Any further surplus you make lump sum payments upon refix to reduce the loan balance. The loan can still be kept on Interest only so that if you want to buy more properties, you can reduce the voluntary payments and use the extra cash to buy more.

Never let your savings sitting in the bank’ saving account. You probably can earn 3% interest but after tax, only 2% but you are paying 5% on loan which does not make sense. Put it into a line of credit or use for debt reduction. Little things add up to a big thing.

On the flip side, we recommend don’t stretch your cash flow too thin as if the market goes down, experiences high-interest rates, job loss, etc. you will have no alternative but to become a forced seller in a depressed market and lose all the wealth accumulated to date.

Line of Credit

The beauty of line of credit is that you can redraw the cash you put in before when you need it without applying form the bank, but reduce interest paid if you don’t use it because the bank only charges against loan balance, not on loan limit.  Note bank charge annual fee for having a line of credit facility, normally this can be waived in the first year and it is tax deductible expense as well.

I highly recommend every property investor should have a line of credit facility. During GFC period, the interest rate was close to 10%. Lots of investors were forced to sell their properties due to loan repayment issues (the rent was unable to cover the mortgage interest costs and investors do not any surplus cash to cover the shortfall). If they had a line of credit (either undrawn or semi-undrawn) then they were more likely to ride out the tough times and save their properties.

A key cash flow risk mitigation strategy for property investment is establishing a line of credit in advance of needing them to cover cash flow if you lose your job or tenants or deal with cash flow shortfall.

Remember, the bank can be your best friend in good times, but your worst enemy during your tough times. If you admit you are in trouble, they are more likely to react adversely.

Manage interest rate fluctuation

When considering interest term strategy, cheapest is not always the best. Interest can fluctuate for many reasons, such as OCR, local deposit rates, wholesale rate, etc, sometimes it’s hard to predict. If you fix all your loan at the cheapest interest rate, upon refix, 1% rate change on $2m loan requires $20k additional cash per year to cover extra interest cost alone.

The interest you pay on your loans can have a huge effect on your overall cash flow. Even a small change in interest rate can have a big effect on your bottom line. Banks will not demand loan repayment due to negative equity however you can definitely get into trouble if you can’t keep up with the loan repayment. People often laser focus on what the cheapest rate on offer by the bank but instead they should focus on managing interest rate fluctuations such as having slightly longer fixed terms or spreading the risk by having a number of tranches expiring at different times.

Splitting Banks is helpful

Bank’s pricing appetite can change from the best in the market to the worse depending on their strategies. By splitting your loans across different banks, you are not exposed to adverse interest rate upon refix should the bank decide not to match pricing with their competitors. 

Have a good property manager

A good property manager can avoid your property being trashed by bad tenants, and they will maintain your property by doing inspection regularly, collect rent on time, review rent to make sure you receive the market rent. The fee you pay can easily offset by rent increase and give you peace of mind. I personally use a property manager to manage all my properties. 

Look for Positive Net Yield Property

In the Strategy section, we discussed the importance of having a balanced portfolio. Cashflow property won’t make you rich but important for supporting your capital growth properties. The surplus cash flow from the high yielding properties supports the outgoings on the capital growth properties.

Basically, when it comes to yield, there are two types: gross yield and net yield. But what’s the difference between gross and net?

Gross yield is everything before expenses. It is calculated as a percentage based on the property’s cost or market value divided by the income generated by the property.

Net yield is everything after expenses. It considers all the fees and expenses associated with owning a property. Some expenses are water rates (fixed portion), council rates, maintenance and repair, property management fees and insurance, etc. Ideally, we want to seek a property has positive net yield. If you can’t find the cashflow properties, you can consider buying a small business which creates additional income to help subside investing activities. 

Pay Off the Cashflow Property First

With cashflow property, as you are less likely to create wealth through capital growth and if you keep it over the long term, the return would be very poor despite all those hassles of managing it. By paying off the loan at least you are saving. 

ENQUIRE NOW CALCULATORS

We initially approached Connie regarding our home loan refinance because my wife normally worked during daytime but I worked at night shift for 3 days a week. It was not convenient for us to go to bank directly.

Connie went to our house during night time where both of us were available to review our existing home loan and discuss our financial goals. She sorted everything for us with a breeze. We were not only successfully refinanced existing home loan and secured very good interest rates and cash rewards but she also managed to help us finance our first rental property without any cash deposit by leveraging our home equity which we were not aware of before. She also gave us great advice on how to manage our home loan so they can be paid off quicker and build wealth through property investment.

We definitely recommend Connie because her knowledge, experience and expertise in finance gave us peace of mind. She is always there to help us and keep us updated regarding our home loans.

Person

Jose and Marilou Suerte

Proud parents of two lovely children