投资策略

为什么要投资房产

首先我们来谈一谈为什么我们要买投资房。 在以往和我的客户交流当中,我听到最多的原因有以下几个:

  • 当人们接近退休年龄时,投资房已经增加了一定的价值,他们可以把出售投资房的资金用来付清所有的债务,剩下的部分可以保证好的退休生活质量。
  • 当人们退休的时候,他们想拥有至少一个投资物业没有或者只有少量的贷款,这样额外的租金带来的现金流(passive income)可以帮助您们的退休生活。
  • 用投资房来帮助您们的下一代实现他们的财务目标,可以是使用赠于或者担保的形式。
  • 从增加资产的角度来说, 管理得当的投资房的回报比投资在股票,或者把钱存入银行的回报要好很多。
  • 到目前为止,如果您手里持有的物业已经超过两年,并且您的倾向是长期持有,那么当物业卖掉时您不需要付物业增值税。在新西兰,所有的其他的利润都是需要缴税的。

增长策略

  • 购买投资房应该是一个长期的投资。如果您购买以后快速卖掉,您不但会错过房产增值的机会,而且还需要想税务局缴纳房产增值税,还有房产中介费,以及其他的财务费用(一般来说,非银行贷款机构需要收取1%-2%左右的 申请费用),律师费。 扣除这些所有费用,您自己得到的利润所剩无已。
  • 物业的 增值能使您变得富有,现金流让您时刻保持偿还能力。 为了您的财务积累,您得先有一个增值或者有增值潜力的物业, 不然何必花费精力和风险去投资物业呢。当然,选择能提供好的现金流的物业也是非常有必要的,不然您就会资不抵债, 陷入财务窘迫的局面。
  • 位置! 位置! 还是位置!选择供不应求的快增长区域。相对来说有高收入人群,和经济比较活跃的区域。
  • 尽量以折扣购买,会是买有潜力可以增加价值的物业。 不要只是以市场价格购买仅依赖它的纯增长,尤其是在市场不好的时候。
  • 选用对投资房经验丰富的贷款经纪,他们可以从结构给您建议,并且和很多的贷款机构都有良好的关系。
  • 首付循环 - 这是一个使您快速增加您物业投资的好办法,不用等待市场什么时候呈上升趋势。这个理论就是购买一个物业,您可以重新装修让其重新评估而升值,然后回到银行从增值的部分贷出更多的额度从而使您的首付循环回来。这是一个 比较复杂的领域,您需要一开始就确定正确的结构。最好的办法是在您行动前,找一个比较专业贷款经纪谈谈。
  • 明确和遵循自己的购买规则。当您做决定时要依赖数据和物业质量,而不是感情用事。购买规则可以包括,最低回报率,最低物业增值率,以及地理位置,还有土地大小,以及发展潜力,物业类型和最高可以承受得价格。
  • 了解房地产的周期,在不同的周期阶段使用不同的计策。
  • 用一买一卖创造出更多的首付,从而购买可以长期持有的增值高的物业。
  • 学习相关的专业知识帮助您更快的获得成功。不断的尝试和犯错会让您付出高昂的代价而且非常缓慢。
  • 有正确的法律和税务,贷款结构。

贷款策略

  • 管理好利息的浮动。
  • 提前准备好贷款循环额度以备不时之需。
  • 使用不同的银行,而不要让您的财务被一家银行所控制。
  • 不要以的自住房做抵押用来投资商业或者购买投资房。
  • 不要使用您的另一半做个人担保除非偿还贷款是以他们的收入作为基础。
  • 确保每次无条件前您的贷款都被确认没有任何问题,否则可能会付出巨额代价。

更多的讨论,我们可以看看另外三个部分。

其他有用的小贴士

  • 确定您的目标并且制定有效的计划-如果您自己不知道方向那么如何能衡量您的进程呢?如果您没有有效的计划,那么最后的结果也会是随机的。
  • 从小的容易的项目入手,这样即使您犯错了,也不至于付出高昂的代价。
  • 您不可能在物业投资的每个方面成为专家,所以找一个专业,有丰富技能和经验的团队并能够把您的目标和利益放首位是至关重要的。
  • 一个好的贷款经纪人会擅长于投资房产的贷款并且提供有力的建议, 不仅仅关注于交易。我自己就是一个房产投资者,我曾经有5个投资房。当我跟您讨论投资房产的时候,我会以一个投资房购买者的角度,为您考虑一些最重要的因素,和可能的风险,以便设身处地的帮助您。
  • 一个好的擅长做房产投资方面的会计师,不仅仅懂得税务也了解相关的资产保护方法。
  • 一个好的律师,能够行动迅速并且能够及时为您答疑解难,擅长房产法而不是紧紧做房产交易。
  • 一个好的房产中介了解您的购买规则,为您寻找适合的物业,甚至时还未上市。
  • 一个好的物业经理来管理的租户,维护您的财产,准时收取租金,审查租金,以确保您收到市场租金。
  • 一个好的保险经纪人每年都要核查您的个人风险。不要使用银行的保险产品,因为他们的政策比通过经纪人直接去保险公司要有限制。
  • 对您正在购买的房产彻底调查。
  • 不要借到您的最大额度 - 为自己留下一些喘息的空间。
  • 买专业的出租物业保险。
  • 有良好的心态 – 物业周期有其循环。在奥克兰,它的范围从7  -  10年。当您遇到低迷的市场时,不要恐慌急于出售。如果您明智地购买,并有适当的结构,您可以摆脱经济低迷,尽早恢复。
  • 将您的投资分散多年。不要一年内够买太多。
马上咨询 计算器

我的自住房和投资房都是找小宇信贷来帮忙贷款的。小宇每次都很认真努力的帮我筹划,准备材料,给我很多宝贵的专业建议。最近一次小宇帮我做换房的贷款,我当时的情况比较复杂,但是小宇和她公司的员工都很积极的帮助我做好每一个环节,最终顺利交割了。 我对她们的服务非常满意,绝对会推荐给有需要贷款的朋友。

Person

Nini Ni

建筑师

Investment Strategies

Why Investing in Properties

As a starting point, let’s talk about why we want to buy investment property. From talking to my past clients, here are the main reasons I’ve heard. 

  • When reaching retirement, people can sell investment property which has gone up in values over the years and then pay off debts and any surplus to support a good lifestyle in retirement.
  • When people retire, they want to have at least one investment property which has no debt or little debt. The net cash flow from the rent provides excellent passive income for retirement living.
  • They use investment property to help their children achieve their financial dream by either gifting or providing a personal guarantee.
  • From a building wealth perspective, if you manage well, the power of leverage in property can provide a much better return for people than investment in shares or putting money into a bank savings account.
  • At the time of writing this article, if you hold property for more than 2 years from the purchase date and your intention is for long-term investment (buy-to-hold), then you don’t pay capital gain tax. All other types of gain are taxable in NZ.

Growth Strategies

  • Buying investment property should be a long-term game. If you buy and then quickly resale, you will miss the capital growth period and also have to pay capital gain tax to IRD and real estate fee, finance fee (with property trading, finance normally come from non-bank lenders who charge 1%-2% application fee), solicitor’s fees. After deducting all these, there is not much wealth left for yourself.
  • Capital growth assets make you rich, cash flow assets keep you solvent. In order to grow wealth, you must have capital growth assets, otherwise, what’s the point of investing after the hassle of property management and taking risks. However, you can go broke if you can’t meet all the outgoings so cashflow properties are also essential. Best practice is to have a balanced portfolio.
  • Location, Location, and Location! Choose high growth areas where supply is tight and demand is high, have high average incomes, and lots of economic activities.
  • Buy at a discount if possible or find the one that has the potential for adding values. Don’t just pay market price and rely on organic growth over time especially in the down market.
  • Use mortgage brokers who understand property investment, structuring and have access to wide range of lenders.
  • Recycle deposit - This is a useful tool if you want to build your property portfolio reasonably quickly and can’t wait for the market to pick up organically. The concept is that you buy a property, add values by renovation, and then get it evaluated at the increased price by a registered valuer. You then go back to the bank to request a top up so you get your deposit back. This is a complex area which needs to have the right structure in place. Best to talk to a specialised mortgage broker before taking action
  • Clearly define buying rules and then follow them. When making decision rely on numbers and quality of the assets, as opposed to your emotion. Buying rules include minimum yield, minimum capital growth rate, location, land size, development potential, property type, max purchase price, etc.
  • Understand property cycles and use different strategies at different cycle stages.
  • Use buy-to-sell to create deposits in order to buy capital growth assets to hold for long-term 
  • Learn through education. Education can fast-track your success. Trial and error can be slow and very costly.
  • Have the right tax and legal, and finance structure.

Finance Strategies

  • Managing interest rate fluctuation.
  • Have a line of credit set up in advance to create liquidity buffers.
  • Split banks to minimise the control of your affairs from a single bank.
  • Don’t cross secure your family home with your business or investment properties
  • Don’t get your spouse provide personal guarantee unless the loans rely on their income for servicing
  • Always confirm finance before going unconditional because the consequences can be very expensive

For more in-depth discussion, please check the other three sections.

Other Useful Tips

  • Set your goal and create strategy plan – if you don’t know where you are going, how you are going to measure your progress? If you don’t have a strategy, then the result can be random.
  • Start with an easy and small project. If you make mistakes, it’s not going to cost you a fortune.
  • You can’t be an expert in all aspects of property investment. Find experts in your property investment team with the right skills and knowledge and experiences, understand your goals and have your best interest at their heart.
  • A good Mortgage broker specialise in investment property finance and good at structuring and advice focus, as opposed to transactional focus. I am a property investor myself and use to own five rental properties. When I work with you as property investor client, I understand the most important things in property investing, know the pitfalls and more importantly, I know how to support you.
  • A good accountant who specialises in property investment, who not only understands tax but also appreciates the asset protection aspect.
  • A good solicitor who can act fast, contactable, and specialise in property investment, not just property conveyancing.
  • A good real estate agent who can understand your buying rules and find the right property for you before it’s on the market
  • A good property manager to managing your tenants, maintain your property, collect rent on time, review rent to make sure you receive the market rent.
  • A good insurance broker to review your personal risks every year. Don’t use the bank’s insurance products, as their policies have limitations than going directly to an insurance company via a broker.
  • Undertake a thorough due diligence on the property you are looking to purchase.
  • Don’t borrow to the max capacity – leave breathing space for yourself.
  • Take landlord insurance for rental property.
  • Have good mindset – property has its cycle. In Auckland, it ranges from 7-10 years. When you experience down market, don’t panic and sell. If you buy wisely in the first place and have the right structure in place, you can ride out the downturns and recover well.
  • Spread your investing out over years. Don’t buy too much in one year. 
ENQUIRE NOW CALCULATORS

We initially approached Connie regarding our home loan refinance because my wife normally worked during daytime but I worked at night shift for 3 days a week. It was not convenient for us to go to bank directly.

Connie went to our house during night time where both of us were available to review our existing home loan and discuss our financial goals. She sorted everything for us with a breeze. We were not only successfully refinanced existing home loan and secured very good interest rates and cash rewards but she also managed to help us finance our first rental property without any cash deposit by leveraging our home equity which we were not aware of before. She also gave us great advice on how to manage our home loan so they can be paid off quicker and build wealth through property investment.

We definitely recommend Connie because her knowledge, experience and expertise in finance gave us peace of mind. She is always there to help us and keep us updated regarding our home loans.

Person

Jose and Marilou Suerte

Proud parents of two lovely children